Print Friendly, PDF & Email

This article came from Chronicle published March 1981. Page:10

 

Bell-cage of East Bergholt

Author: Mrs.M.Craig

 

Whilst holidaying in the Suffolk Stour Valley, we came to East Bergholt, the birthplace of John Constable, R.A., but the house has long since disappeared. His parents are buried in the N.E. corner of the churchyard.

The church dates from about 1350 and was altered in the 15th century. In 1525 a tower was begun at the expense of Cardinal Wolsey, but on his death in 1530 work was stopped owing to lack of funds. Now having nowhere to hang, their bells, a bell-cage was built in 1531 at the side of the church, It is unique that the bells – one of which is dated 1450 are rung not by a rope and wheel, but by the force of hands on the wooden headstocks. Owing to the close proximity to the bells ear-muffs have to be worn by the ringers. It is believed to be the only bell-cage in the country.


Hits: 0

Archives
Programme

Winter Talks-2021/22

Fri 1st Oct 2021 – ‘Henry Hunt’s Mistress Revealed’, a juicy story of Georgian scandal.

Fri 5th Nov – ‘St Ivel the History of Aplin and Barrett’.

Fri 3rd Dec – ‘The Art of Dowsing – Exploring subtle energies in South-West England’.

Fri 7th Jan 22 – AGM 2019-20 and 2020-21 followed by Members Evening.

Fri 4th Feb – Stalbridge House Dig – 3rd Season Chris Tripp

Fri 4th Mar – Maria Kneafsey (Finds Liaison Officer, Somerset)

Fri 1st April – Autumn Fires – Somerset’s Rich History of Celebrations & Customs Tim Hill

Fri 6th May – AGM 2021-22 – Further Details to Follow

Gallery
From the Clynick Collection (1980's) - Cadbury-Camp-2 From the Clynick Collection (1980's) - Cadbury-Camp-6 From the Clynick Collection (1980's)  - Peugout 1904 Brighten Run From the Clynick Collection (1980's) Roman-Pavemant- 8 Arrow-Heads-from-Ham-Hill- From the Clynick Collection (1980's)  - Peugout 1904 Brighten Run
Categories