Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Yeovil Archaeological and Local History Society – Summer 2018 & Winter 2018/19

Are you interested in history and archaeology, particularly of Yeovil and its surrounding towns & villages?
YALHS talks start at 7:30 pm (prompt), On the 1st Friday of the month, Oct – May. We also organise regular visits to archaeological digs and historical sites during the summer months.

Summer Programme
Tuesday 12th June – Tour of Weymouth Museum led by David Riches – meet at 10am for
10.30 – tour duration 1hr 30min (cost £2.50 each)

Friday 6th July – South Petherton Walkabout – Meet at the Parish Church – start 6.30pm – duration 1hr 30min.
Led by Liz Randall – £2.00 ea

August – Visit an Archaeological Site – to be arranged

Friday 7th September – Somerset Rural Life Museum – meet at 2pm – (entrance £4.95 ea)
– The good news is that Peter has arranged for a Group Visit – entrance charge is now £4.05 ea – more details later

Winter Programme
Friday 5th October – ‘Muchelney Abbey – from its obscure origins, through the Norman Conquest to the Dissolution’
Speaker – John Baxter

Friday 2nd November – Talk on ‘World War I – about the local lads who went to war and the lasses role in the war’
Speaker – Darren Berry

Friday 7th December – ‘The Unfortunate Captain Pearce & the Wreck of the Holswel’ – Speaker – Phillip Brown

Friday 4th January 2019 – Members’ Evening – all welcome –
With various talks, a quiz and light refreshments – let Brian know if you would like to give a talk

Friday 1st February – ‘Roman History of Ilchester’
Speaker – John Smith

Friday 1st March – ‘Walter Bagehot – Langport’s Unknown Celebrity’
Speaker – Barry Winetrobe (talk brought forward from last year)

Friday 5th April – ‘The Lost Islands of Somerset’ (about the Levels)
Speaker – Richard Brunning (talk now confirmed)

Friday 3rd May – AGM followed by a talk – ‘Parish Boundaries in and around Yeovil’
Speaker – Jim Hart – (Non-members – free Entrance!)

Talks are held at the Holy Trinity Church and Community Centre, Lysander Rd, Yeovil, BA20 2BU. Members free, Non-members £2.

Membership:
Individuals £10; Couples £15; Family £18; Juniors/Students £2.
Find out more at: www.yalhs.org.uk

V2 dated 18th June 2018

Programme

All YALHS talks start at 7:30pm and are held at the Holy Trinity Church & Community Centre, Lysander Road, YEOVIL, BA20 2BU (Non-members Welcome – £2 at the door)


Click >H e r e for a Detailed Programme


Summer Programme 2018
Tue 12th Jun – Guided Tour Weymouth Museum
Fri 6th Jul – South Petherton Walkabout – Meet at the Parish Church
August – Visit an Archaeological Site
Fri 6th Sep – Visit Somerset Rural Life Museum


Winter Talks 2018/19
Fri 5th Oct – Muchelney Abbey – from its obscure origins, through the Norman Conquest to the Dissolution
Fri 2nd Nov – Talk on the World War One – about the local lads who went to war and the lasses role in the war
Fri 5th Dec – The Unfortunate Captain Pearce & the wreck of the Holswel
Fri 4th Jan 19 – Members’ Evening – all welcome – Join us for various talks, a quiz and light refreshments
Fri 1st Feb – Roman History of Ilchester
Fri 2nd Mar – Walter Bagehot – Langport’s Unknown Celebrity Brought forward from last year
5th Apr (Fri) ‘The Lost Islands of Somerset’
3rd May (Fri) AGM followed by a talk – Parish Boundaries in and around Yeovil – (Non-members – free entrance!) – bring a friend


Gallery
2014 - pg106_plate 111 2014 - pg109_plate 116 2014 - pg121_plate 130 Leslie-Booke's-Model-ofThe- Silk Hill, Salisbury Plain St John's Church, Yeovil St John's Churchyard, archaeology day 6 Stained-Glass-at-Long-Burto Tail-Mill-Merriott-in-2014( Yeovil-St-John's-Chancel-Ro